The mansion was used by King Bao Dai from 1933 to 1954.
In 1955, Hai Phong was liberated and the Bao Dai mansion was taken over and managed by the Ministry of National Defense.
In 1984, the ministry handed it over to Do Son Tourism JSC for commercial exploitation.
Each year, the mansion welcomes about 60,000 visitors. Visitors can rent rooms, organize parties and conferences in the mansion.